© 2023 The Princess and the Peanby Malia Zaidi. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • goodreads_icon_100x100-4a7d81b31d932cfc0be621ee15a14e70
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
Stay In The Know:
Please reload

Search By Tag:

Blog Tour: The Secret by K.L. Slater

July 30, 2018

 

Today I am happy to join the blog tour for K.L. Slater's latest mystery, The Secret. I have read a number of the author's books, and was excited for the chance to read this one as well. If you are looking for a gripping, inventive summer thriller, look no further!

 

The Secret by KL Slater

 

You think you can trust the ones you love most.
But what if one secret could make you question everything?
Every day, a woman like Louise passes you in the street: elegant, confident, determined. But underneath, she’s struggling.
She doesn’t know her sister, Alice, has been scared of leaving the house since their mother died.
She doesn’t know when Alice babysits her little boy, Archie, he sometimes sees things he shouldn’t.
She doesn’t know Archie has a secret.
A secret that could send cracks through the heart of Louise’s carefully constructed life...

The most gripping psychological thriller you’ll read this year from the Kindle top five bestselling author K.L. Slater. If you love The Girl on the Train or Gone Girl, you’ll be absolutely hooked.

 

My Review:

4****

This was my third book by K.L. Slater, and thought I knew I was likely in for a gripping ride, her previous books have taught me to expect the unexpected. The Secret is a story full of twists and turns and I really liked the switching POVs between the sisters, Alice and Louise as well as switching smoothly between the past and present day. As the blurb summarizes above, the story revolves around a big secret kept by Archie, as well as other ones between the sisters. I liked how the book moved at a quick pace, all the while seeming thoughtfully plotted and giving time to develop the characters and the setting. The build-up of tension made this book hard to put down, and I really sped through it, eager to know how it would conclude and what the repercussions of the big reveal would be.

This is another winner for Slater and I recommend The Secret as well as her other books to fans of clever and inventive thrillers. Fans of authors like Nicci French, Angela Marsons or Shalini Boland will enjoy this book, I am sure.

Happy reading!

 

Thanks to Bookouture for supplying me with a copy of The Secret in exchange for an honest review.

 

Get Your Copy:

Amazon US

Amazon UK

iBookstore

Kobo

Googleplay

 

 

About the author: 

 

Kim is the bestselling author of psychological crime thrillers 'Safe With Me,' 'Blink,' 'Liar,' 'The Mistake' and 'The Visitor.' Her latest thriller, ‘The Secret’ will be published by Bookouture on 27th July 2018 and is now available for pre-order. 

Kim's titles are soon to be published in paperback by Sphere in the UK and Grand Central in the USA.

For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents and collected an impressive stack of rejection slips. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.

Before graduating in 2012, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents and a book deal which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’

Kim is a full-time writer, has one grown-up daughter, Francesca, and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac. 

She also writes award-winning YA fiction for Macmillan Children's Books, writing as Kim Slater.

 

Connect with the Author:
Author website
Twitter

Goodreads
Facebook

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload