© 2023 The Princess and the Peanby Malia Zaidi. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • goodreads_icon_100x100-4a7d81b31d932cfc0be621ee15a14e70
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
Stay In The Know:
Please reload

Search By Tag:

Link Love

January 26, 2018

 

It's Friday, which means it's time for Link Love, where I share some of my favorite bookish articles and blogs from the past week. Happy reading!

 

As I am sure many of you will have heard, Ursula Le Guin passed away this week. She was best known for her Earthsea series. This Buzzfeed article pays a nice little tribute to her.

Best-Selling Science Fiction Author Ursula Le. Guin Has Died at 88

 

As for some lighter material, the Literary Hub is one of my favorite sites for a wide variety of bookish news. This week, they published a solid list of very useful writing manuals written by famous authors. As a writer, I find I have learned far more from reading fiction than from anything else, but writing manuals can at least contribute to teaching aspiring writers how to get started, how to edit, how to set a scene, create a character, build suspense. I have only read two of these, but will definitely look up a few more, especially the Francine Prose, the Edith Wharton and Benjamin Percy. Have you read any of these, what did you think?

Great Advice from 25 Writing Manuals by Famous Authors

 

Emma Paterson of the Rogers, Coleridge & White agency has shared a number of the books on her to-read list. Half of a Yellow Sun appears on the list, and it is definitely a book I would highly recommend, as well as Beloved, which is one of those books I have been meaning to read forever and never got around to. What is on your to-read list this coming month?

It's Lit! A Literary Agent's Reading List

The Observer has just published an interview of sorts with Zadie Smith, where she answers questions from her fans, and fellow writers.

The Observer: Zadie Smith

 

Bookriot has rounded up a list of psychological thrillers for fans of Gone Girl, Girl on the Train and Big Little Lies. Now, just about every other book in this genre is touted the "Next Gone Girl" or "If you loved The Girl on the Train . . ." That  said, I actually like some of these recommendations more than the book to which they are being held up, especially as I wasn't a HUGE fan of the above mentioned paragons of psychological thrillers (except for Big Little Lies, which I would qualify more as a domestic suspense novel).  Anyway . . . let me know what you think of this list and whether you have read some of the books or plan to.  I am really looking forward to Anatomy of a Scandal and recommend The Woman in the Window.

24 Psychological Thrillers

 

Lastly, for something fun, Bookwitty has rounded up their favorite bookish gifs. Though they offer little food for thought, the weekend is nearly upon us, and if ever there was a time for idling away, looking at something cute online, it is now, no?

The 12 Best Book Gifs

 

 

 

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload