© 2023 The Princess and the Peanby Malia Zaidi. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • goodreads_icon_100x100-4a7d81b31d932cfc0be621ee15a14e70
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
Stay In The Know:
Please reload

Search By Tag:

Mystery Monday

May 1, 2017

 

 

The bad news is, it's Monday. The good news, it's Mystery Monday on The Princess and the Pen, where I highlight a few mystery novels on my radar. I come across so many mysteries on Goodreads, from social media and word-of-mouth recommendations and Mystery Monday will feature a small selection of those. Some will be debut authors, others well-established. One thing they will all have in common, though, is that they will probably make my to-read mountain topple over!

If you would like to participate in Mystery Monday on your blog, feel free to use the image and please link back to The Princess and the Pen:-)

 

Happy Reading!

 

 

First up we have Murder in Morningside Heights, the latest installment in one of my favorite series, The Gaslight Mysteries by Victoria Thompson. These novels are set at the turn of the 20th century in New York City, and are among the best historical fiction I've read. You can take the fact that I have read 18 of these books already as a testament to their quality. If you are a fan of historical fiction (or even my own series), you might enjoy these!

 

Blurb:

"In the latest from the bestselling author of Murder on St. Nicholas Avenue, former police sergeant Frank Malloy and his wife adjust to life in New York high society as they investigate a death in the field of higher learning... After spending his first few weeks as a private detective by investigating infidelities of the wealthy, Frank has a more serious case at hand. Abigail Northrup of Tarrytown, New York, was her parents’ pride and joy. After graduating from a prestigious women’s college in Morningside Heights, she took a job there as an instructor. She also joined the ranks of the New Women, ladies planning for a life without a husband in which they make their own decisions and make a difference in the world. Unfortunately, her murder ended all that. When the police declare the incident a random attack and refuse to investigate further, Abigail’s parents request Frank’s help. Of course, he’ll need Sarah’s assistance as she’s more familiar with the world of academia, and it will be far easier for her to interview the lady professors. Yet difficulties arise as they learn that although Miss Northrup may have been an exemplary student and teacher, she lived in a world of secrets and lies…"

 

 

 

 

Breaking Dead is the first book in a new series, featuring Sophie Kent, an investigative reporter. I believe this is Corrie Jackson's debut, and I always love to highlight new authors here. I've heard good things about this book, and look forward to getting my hands on a copy.

 

Blurb:

"For fans of Kimberley Chambers and The Cuckoo's Calling, this compelling crime novel uncovers the dark side of high fashion.Sophie Kent is hanging on by a thread. Her tenacity and talent have seen her rise through the ranks of a tough newspaper industry. But her brother's suicide has thrown her career and personal life into chaos. Whilst out on the job interviewing witnesses of a brutal child murder, Sophie befriends a beautiful but traumatised Russian model. When the girl's mutilated body turns up in an upmarket hotel on the eve of London Fashion Week, Sophie knows she could have saved her. Eaten away by guilt, she throws herself headfirst into the edgy, fast-paced world of fashion with one goal in mind: to catch the killer. Only then can she piece her grief-stricken self back together. As she chips away at the industry's glittery surface, she uncovers a toxic underworld rife with drugs, secrets, prostitution and blackmail. The investigation propels Sophie from the glamour of the catwalk to London's darkest corners, towards a sinister past and a twenty-year-old murder case that could hold the key. Battling her demons and her wealthy, dysfunctional family along the way, Sophie pushes her personal problems to one side as she goes head to head with a crazed killer; a killer who is only just getting started... "

 

 

 

I got a copy of Sisters One, Two, Three for just $1.99 on Kindle, a deal I believe is still going on, if you are interested. I will probably get the audiobook as well, depending on the narrator. (If you are new to audiobooks, there is a good trick to get them for a great price. Often a Kindle book will be on sale and Whispersync enabled, which means you can frequently buy the Kindle book for its sale price, then get the audiobook companion for a fraction of its usual price.) I've heard mixed reviews for this one, but lately I've seen it all over the place, so I will probably give it a try sooner rather than later. Have any of you read it?

 

Blurb:

"After a tragic accident on Martha’s Vineyard, keeping secrets becomes a way of life for the Tangle family. With memories locked away, the sisters take divergent paths. Callie disappears, Mimi keeps so busy she has no time to think, and Ginger develops a lifelong aversion to risk that threatens the relationships she holds most dear.When a whispered comment overheard by her rebellious teenage daughter forces Ginger to reveal a long-held family secret, the Tangles’ carefully constructed web of lies begins to unravel. Upon the death of Glory, the family’s colorful matriarch, and the return of long-estranged Callie, Ginger resolves to return to Martha’s Vineyard and piece together what really happened on that calamitous day when a shadow fell over four sun-kissed siblings playing at the shore. Along with Ginger’s newfound understanding come the keys to reconciliation: with her mother, with her sisters, and with her daughter.At turns heartbreaking, humorous, and hopeful, Sisters One, Two, Three explores not only the consequences of secrets—even secrets kept out of love—but also the courage it takes to speak the truth, to forgive, and to let go."

 

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload