© 2023 The Princess and the Peanby Malia Zaidi. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • goodreads_icon_100x100-4a7d81b31d932cfc0be621ee15a14e70
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
Stay In The Know:
Please reload

Search By Tag:

Mystery Monday

April 17, 2017

 

This is the second week of Mystery Monday, a new feature on The Princess and the Pen, where I highlight a few mystery novels on my radar. I come across so many mysteries on Goodreads, from social media and word-of-mouth recommendations and Mystery Monday will feature a small selection of those. Some will be debut authors, others well-established. One thing they will all have in common, though, is that they will probably make my to-read mountain topple over!

If you would like to participate in Mystery Monday on your blog, feel free to use the image and please link back to The Princess and the Pen:-)

Happy Reading!

 

 

 

The Escape by C.L. Taylor

I've read almost all of Taylor's books thus far, and she always delivers a page-turner. I've heard good things about her latest and can't wait to get my hands on a copy!

 

Blurb: "The new psychological thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Accident, The Lie and The Missing."Look after your daughter's things. And your daughter…"When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn't.The stranger knows Jo's name, she knows her husband Max and she's got a glove belonging to Jo's two year old daughter Elise.What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo's own husband turn against her.No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there's only one way to keep her child safe – RUN."

 

 

 

He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly

Another author I know and enjoy, though it's been a while since I read anything new by her. Friends on Goodreads are really praising this book, so I am very curious what lies ahead. He Said/She Said is published April 20th 2017.

 

Blurb: "Who do you believe?In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack.She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, it is not only the victim's life that is changed forever.Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear.And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, the events that follow have taught her that you can never see the whole picture: something - and someone - is always in the dark..."

 

 

 

The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

This book is the author's debut novel, and I've noticed a fair amount of buzz surrounding it. The cover also really drew me in, and I was excited to snap up a copy when I was in the library last week!

 

Blurb: "The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page."

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload